Post 7: Something to Look Forward To

My mother always told me that her father used to say, live life with something to look forward to. That’s why he was always planning a trip, taking my grandmother on a cruise or going somewhere exciting in the world: so they could live life looking forward to the next adventure.

In many ways, that’s how I see the world too. But I’ve never really gone anywhere too exciting; I’ve spent my life looking forward to minimal events that I had hoped would live up to expectations beyond all else. That isn’t what ever happens, and that’s OK.

So now my latest hobby is using STA Travel to see where I could go, and for how much. How much is it to fly to Paris? What about Montreal? Eurorail passes? Something great is headed my way, but I just haven’t decided what that will be yet. But I’ll figure it out.

Part of me wants to return to Hawaii, where I once lived. But on the other hand I’d love to go somewhere new, like Vancouver. That would be fun. I’d need a passport — isn’t it sad I don’t have one yet? For one Christmas my dad gave me the paperwork, but I never got around to filling it out. Well, maybe it’s about time I did.

Time to go on an adventure.

Leave a Reply

